Formative and Summative assessment

Formative assessment

Formative assessment is to monitor students learning and to be able to give individual feedback to each student.

  • help students identify where they need improvement

Summative assessment

It is conducted at the end of the teaching and gather evidence of learning.

  • progress towards the end of the unit.

So for my unit plan I have been using formative assessment continuously and have used summative assessment at the end of the lesson. When doing my lesson plan, I had to look on what formative and summative assessment was in order to plan the assessments for my lesson plan.

For example for my science unit plan, I have used KWL where students record what they know, what would they like to know and at the end what they have learnt. I had to look at Assessment -Education Queensland to get some understanding of what formative and summative assessment was. If you are not sure of what formative and summative assessment is, please visit the website as it had also got some information on what we want to assess.

Leave a Reply

